Home Officers Membership WINS Supporters Contact Us My-WINS
Women in Neurosurgery Logo
Who We Are
Spotlight on WINS
Resident Corner
Medical Student Corner

Career Brochure
Who We Are

History of Women in Neurosurgery
(WINS, Incorporated)

The main goal of the organization is to promote a cooperative and supportive environment among women practicing neurosurgery, including those in training to become neurosurgeons. As the group has grown, it has become an international organization with members in Asia, Europe and Africa.

Membership is open to Board Certified/Board Eligible neurosurgeons and neurosurgery residents. Medical students, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and any others who are interested in participating in the group are welcome to become non-voting members. There are three officer positions within the group: the President, President-Elect and the Secretary-Treasurer. Each year at the Congress of Neurological Surgeons meeting, the membership elects a new Secretary/Treasurer. The Presidents of the organization have been:

Julie G. Pilitsis, MD, PhD, FAANS 2013
Eve Tsai, MD PhD FAANS 2012
Odette Harris, MD MPH FAANS 2011
Shelly D. Timmons, MD PhD FAANS 2010
Aviva Abosch, MD PhD 2009
Lauren Schwartz, MD 2008
Susan C. Pannullo, MD 2007
Jaime S. Ullman, MD 2006
Kimberly A. Page, MD 2005
Holly S. Gilmer-Hill, MD 2004
Denise Crute, MD 2003
Roxanne Todor, MD 2001-2002
Sherry Apple, MD 2001
Edie E. Zusman, MD 2000
Daria Schooler, RPh, MD 1999
Emily Friedman, MD 1998
Anne Marie Flannery, MD 1997
Lucy Love, MD 1995-1996
Gail Rosseau, MD 1994
Isabelle Germano, MD 1993
Karin Muraszko, MD 1992
Kym, Chandler, MD 1991
Deborah Benzil, MD 1990

Women in Neurosurgery, (WINS) encourages its members to get involved in organized neurosurgery and serve as a resource to the AANS, CNS and other neurosurgical and medical organizations at the local, state and national levels.

When Women are in Neurosurgery, Neurosurgery WINS.